Oscar Nominated Animated Shorts

The Oscar nominations for short animated film was always something of a non-catagory for me. I’d seldom heard of any of the titles, and even if I had, the chances of getting to see one were pretty slim. Occasionally, if a british film was nominated, and it had been partially funded by the BBC or Channel 4, then there might be one or two brief broadcasts if you were lucky enough to catch them.

This year however, I was surprised to realise that of the many categories of Oscar nominations,  the only one for which I’d seen all nominated films, was the animated shorts category. Thanks to numerous shared links on blogs and facebook, it was quite easy to catch them all. I will admit that I didn’t take too long to check if all these links were ‘officially authorised’; but I assume they are for the simple fact that the one film that did receive BBC funding and a broadcast is well protected, and not available online.

Anyway, the links are bellow if you want to see for yourself. (They’re all worth a watch, although my personal favourite would probably have to be Logorama.)

French Roast

Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty

La dama y la muerte (the lady and the reaper)

Logorama

A Matter of Loaf and Death

About jackwestmore

Jack Westmore writes music for film, television and media, and is currently based in Cardiff in the UK.
This entry was posted in film and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment