Conveyor Belts

A while ago I watched The Graduate, and then completely by chance a few days later I watched Jackie Brown. Now these are two films that I wouldn’t assume to have much in common, and so I was quite surprised to find that they have virtually the exact same opening sequence.

As the titles run in The Graduate we have a few minutes of Dustin Hoffman standing on airport conveyorbelt walkway.

And for the bening of Jackie Brown, the title character is again in that same situation, framed the same way for one long take.

Now if I was a film scholar I would hypothesise about this homage, about the thematic similarities of these films, and how the different use of colour and music reflects the different developments of the central characters… But since I’m not a film scholar and don’t really know much about either film, I’ll just conclude that, you know, Tarantino’s just that kinda guy. Yea, that seems a pretty good conclusion to me.

About jackwestmore

Jack Westmore writes music for film, television and media, and is currently based in Cardiff in the UK.
This entry was posted in film and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

