Eccentricities & Obsessions

The other day I was walking through the Cardiff arcades and I happened to find this little student art show in an empty shop. I’ve heard talk here and there about cultural or community projects putting empty retail spaces to good use, but this is the first one I’ve seen for myself.

I must compliment the university for arranging this show. I studied a humanities subject at uni, and at times felt a huge gulf between the arts, and the society they were supposed to reflect. So giving the students and the public a chance to interact in this way, seems just great to me.

I also chatted to two of the artists whilst there, Ed and Naomi (do check out their blogs to see some of their work); and more info to be found on the course homepage here.

The show’s been extended to run until Saturday 12th of February, so if you’re in the area (map), do check it out.

P.S. Also, my friend Will Scothern will be showing his film Queensbury Rules at Chapter Movie Maker on Monday 7th Feb (fb). Its a ten minute short I wrote the score for (lots of piano music), shot on Cannon 5D, and is described as ‘a boxing movie without any boxing’. If you’re about, then I’ll see you there.

About jackwestmore

Jack Westmore writes music for film, television and media, and is currently based in Cardiff in the UK.
This entry was posted in art, film and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eccentricities & Obsessions

  1. ompom says:

    Thankyou! you blooged us, how lovely. It was lovely speaking to you and is great that people outside the art & design realm are taking interest, I’m sure it can only be good that we are reaching a broader audience.

    Naomi

Leave a Reply

