Norway and Sweden

So I recently went to Norway and Sweden. I was playing a show in Östersund for an old solo music project called peeved. I decided to eke out my time there by letting the cheapest possible flights dictate my travel dates. I managed to find some flights that were so stupidly cheap that even with the necessary cost of an extra night at a hotel here or there, it was still worth it.

Train ride along along Trondheimsfjorden

Nidaros Cathedral, Trondheim, Norway

A few hours to spare in Trondheim and I stumbled upon Nidaros Cathedral. I only had my phone with me at the time so this picture doesn’t really show how amazing the carvings on this wall are. Their website is in Norwegian, but worth checking out for the pictures: www.nidarosdomen.no

View from the train ride through central Norway and Sweden

Brightly Coloured Jungle Animal Sweets

Even my Swedish friends were surprised at the vibrancy of these colours, explaining that they seldom find sweets this bright since EU regulations over food colouring swept in.

The rather delightful window display of a shop in Gamla Stan, the old town area of central Stockholm.

Woman by the Mirror, Fernand Leger

I managed to pop along to the Moderna Museet, Stockholm’s Modern Art Museum, which had a range of impressive works, even if it was quite small (although maybe I’ve been spoiled with years of trips to the Tate Modern). I’ve had a bit of a soft spot for old Fernand Leger since studying him a little for my MA, so it was nice to find one or two of his works there.

Colourful buildings in Gamla Stan, the old town area of Stockholm.

It was a great trip, if somewhat short. And whilst I did feel like I spent a lot of time travelling, once I was back, heading from Heathrow to Cardiff, I couldn’t help but feel how comparatively boring trains in the UK can be.

Lots more pictures on my flickr feed here.

About jackwestmore

Jack Westmore writes music for film, television and media, and is currently based in Cardiff in the UK.
This entry was posted in art, other and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

