26th May 2012, Film Scores, Misplaced Inspiration

The other day I stumbles across this piece of music. It’s part of a larger score for a quirky short film that began production a while ago. The directors making it as a personal independent project, working on it in occasional gaps between professional work.

http://abfiles.s3.amazonaws.com/swf/fullsize_player.swf
(hear clip on audioboo)

I was going to finish off this quick post by mentioning how I was partly inspired by some of Thomas Newman‘s music, and there was even a specific scene from Edward Scissorhands that was quite influential. So I started searching for these things to link to them in this post, but found both examples were completely different from how I’d remembered them…. So in stead I suppose I’ll just conclude that the act of simply trying to remember a Danny Elfman cue that would fit this film, was enough to give me a feel for the score I wanted to write, even if the scene I took inspiration from was nothing like how I’d imagined it…

About jackwestmore

Jack Westmore writes music for film, television and media, and is currently based in Cardiff in the UK.
This entry was posted in film, music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.