28th Aug 2012, BBC's New Studios, Film Festivals, Online Journals

Hi, hope everyones doing well, just a brief update post.

I’m working on a few different things at the moment. Last month I got to have a look around the the BBC’s new Roath Lock studios too, following a little meeting we had there in preparation for an upcoming project.

A film I worked on a year or so ago called Queensbury Rules got into the Portobello Film Festival. It’ll be screened on Sunday 2nd September. And LoveStruck was selected for the Zebra Poetry Film Festival in Berlin taking place in October, as well as the Auburn International Film Festival for Children and Young Adults in Sydney Australia in September.

I stumbled across interiorsjournal the other day. It’s a little online journal which publishes mini essays on films with particular focus on the layout of a given scene.

I was also quite amused by this. It’s a software instrument that replicates a prepared piano, which was co-created by IRCAM. I’m sure it would give lots of intuitive ways to create interesting sounds, but if I had that kind of money to spare I’d be far more inclined to just spend it on a battered old piano on gumtree….

About jackwestmore

Jack Westmore writes music for film, television and media, and is currently based in Cardiff in the UK.
This entry was posted in film, music, sound and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.